Plainfield's oldest park, Franklin Park was founded in 1935 at the corner of Mill Street and Lincoln Street on the north end of town. Named for Charles "Sap" Franklin, the town's first marshal, the park encompasses 35 acres, and like Friendship Gardens and Hummel Park, is located along White Lick Creek.
Because of its age, Franklin Park boasts many mature shade trees. Amenities in the park include 2 shelter houses, 2 lighted tennis courts, a skateboard area, 4 lighted ball diamonds, 2 concession stands, playground equipment, a private play area for children under six, a volleyball pit, several horseshoe pits and exercise stations. Many of Plainfield's youth league baseball programs are played on the ball diamonds at Franklin Park.